Canberra Murru waaruu Past Event

Seminar 1 - Niiringal (The Day After) Implementation of Uluru Part One: Treaty and Settlement

15 February 2023

The Murru waaruu (On Track) Seminar Series seeks to deliver on the outcomes of the 2022 Marramarra murru (Creating Pathways) Economic Development Symposium. Over the course of 2023, six Murru waaruu seminars will explore the development and implementation of a policy framework that facilitates the economic empowerment of First Nations Australians.

Delegates attending these invitation-only seminars will make a significant contribution to progressing the First Nations economic development, prosperity and wealth creation agenda in Australia. The outcomes of each Murru waaruu seminar will be recorded in an Issues Paper that will form part of a policy compendium, to be published at the conclusion of the series, to help chart Australia’s First Nations economic policy and institutional framework.

The first seminar in the Murru waaruu series is titled, ‘Niiringal (The Day After) Implementation of Uluru Part One: Treaty and Settlement,’ and  featured distinguished speakers including Harold Calla, Jamie Lowe, Professor Asmi Wood, and Glen Kelly. Delegates examined the legal principles, national and international conventions, and case studies from Australian and comparable nations’ governments and courts, in relation to the realisation of economic self-determination for Indigenous peoples.

Listed below are the keynote speakers and discussion panel members that were part of the Seminar proceedings:

Opening Address: Professor Brian Schmidt, AO – Vice Chancellor, Australian National University

Keynote Speaker: First Nations Portfolio’s Perspective – Professor Peter Yu, AM Vice President – First Nations Portfolio, Australian National University

Keynote Speaker: Constitutional Recognition and Economic Self-Determination: The Canadian Experience – Mr Harold Calla, FCPA, FCGA, CAFM Executive Chair – First Nations Financial Management Board

Keynote Speaker: Constitutional Implementation of the UIuru Statement for Economic Self-Determination: Technical Issues, Opportunities and Challenges – Professor Asmi Wood – Sub-Dean (Indigenous) – College of Law, Australian National University

Discussion Panel: Australian Treaty-like Agreements and Settlements – Lessons for Economic Self-Determination to Date

  • Mr Jamie Lowe, National Native Title Council
  • Mr Oral McGuire, Noongar Community Leader
  • Mr Glen Kelly, OAM, National Native Title Tribunal
  • Mr Peter Bednall, Esperance Tjaltjraak Native Title Aboriginal Corporation
  • Mr Bruce Gorring, First Nations Portfolio